Featured Volunteer – Showcasing Muzey!

Muzey Tesfay

It always feels amazing to be recognised for your efforts, and that’s exactly what has happened to our latest Featured Volunteer, Muzey.  She helps to run the Small Works Victoria branch of Net Worx alongside Lucy, who was so impressed by her enthusiasm and dedication to the project that she decided to nominate her. Here’s what Lucy has to say:

“I have nominated Muzey to be the Net Worx Featured Volunteer due to her outstanding contribution to the project. Since we began the Net Worx programme back in March, Muzey has been a reliable volunteer whose role and presence has been core to the future development of the project. She understands how significant using the Internet has become and how it can have a strong impact on people’s lives. Without Muzey’s continued support we would have struggled. She is there before me most mornings having set up the laptops with tea and coffee being made.  Without Muzey, the Net Worx at Small Works Victoria would not have been such a success!”

You couldn’t ask for a better introduction! Now, let’s meet Muzey.

Hi Muzey, tell us a little about yourself.

I am Muzey and I am 37. A hobby of mine is helping people in different ways, whether it’s giving advice or teaching someone how to log into their emails, I like lots of cups of tea – could be fifteen a day! (Even though people tell me it’s not good for your health!) I don’t like people who get angry for no reason.

What made you want to volunteer with Net Worx?

I enjoy volunteering with a variety of groups, especially with Net Worx as it seemed a very exciting project. When you show people something they don’t know you can see the happiness and excitement in their face, and that makes me feel useful and happy too. Also, the Net Worx project takes place right on my doorstep which makes it easy for me to be involved.

What were your first impressions of the Net Worx sessions?

I found the project was something new to our community on this estate and this made it really handy to volunteer with helping my neighbours get in touch with technology.

What do you find most rewarding about volunteering with Net Worx?

Having studied ECDL for three years, it has been so rewarding to use my skills by helping my community as I wasn’t confident enough to get out and do something before I began volunteering with Net Worx.  It has helped me personally to build my confidence and to feel that I am still useful. It has also helped to build my skills and create great relationships with my neighbours.

What do you think interests the learners the most?

There has been a lot of interest in emails, shopping online, how to use Skype, listening to old music on YouTube and watching black and white films. We also have a group of ladies interested in their family history so there has been a lot of fun and interest in learning many things online!

Has anyone or anything stood out for you in particular?

The whole experience has stood out for me. Day by day, I have seen people change with their use of technology and newly gained knowledge. Their confidence in using emails, shopping online and mastering Skype has been fantastic to experience.

Would you recommend that others volunteer with Net Worx?

Yes, because everything has changed with technology and people have to catch up with things so this project is very helpful. For example, people who can’t go out to do their shopping can now order it online. Before I began volunteeting with Net Worx I didn’t know the effect that sharing my skills would have on individuals’ lives. Now I can see that people are really happy and this makes me as a volunteer feel very happy too.

Thanks Muzey, do you have anything else that you would like to add?

To anyone who is scared to use new technology, just use it! You will see the difference and you will be happy.

Leave a comment